Cathay Pacific and Qantas sign codeshare agreement

posted on 21st September 2018 by Justin Burns
Qantas Dreamliner

Cathay Pacific and Qantas have signed a new codeshare agreement that they say “leverages the strengths” of each carrier’s regional networks and provides more options for customers travelling between Australia and Asia.

The codeshare agreement will see Qantas add its code to Cathay Pacific and Cathay Dragon’s services within Asia from Hong Kong to 10 cities across India, Myanmar, Sri Lanka and Vietnam, and on Cathay Pacific’s long-haul services from Hong Kong to Perth and Cairns*.

In turn, Cathay Pacific will add its code to 13 routes on Qantas’ domestic network in Australia.

Customers of both airlines will also have increased opportunities to earn frequent flyer points through their respective loyalty programmes.

Qantas International chief executive officer, Alison Webster said the new codeshare agreement was part of Qantas’ strategy of operating to key global hubs and providing customers with access to an expanded network with airline partners based in those ports.

Cathay Pacific chief customer and commercial officer, Paul Loo welcomed the agreement, saying a closer relationship between the two airlines was a “win-win” for the carriers’ customers.

Cathay Pacific and Qantas together operate more than 100 services a week between Hong Kong and Australia. The codeshare starts on 22 October 2018.

Codeshare routes

Qantas codeshare on Cathay Pacific and Cathay Dragon routes:

Between Hong Kong and Asia:

  • Hong Kong – Bangalore, India
  • Hong Kong – Mumbai, India
  • Hong Kong – Calcutta, India
  • Hong Kong – Delhi, India
  • Hong Kong – Chennai, India
  • Hong Kong – Colombo, Sri Lanka
  • Hong Kong – Danang, Vietnam
  • Hong Kong – Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
  • Hong Kong – Hanoi, Vietnam
  • Hong Kong – Yangon, Myanmar

Between Hong Kong and Australia:

  • Hong Kong – Cairns
  • Hong Kong – Perth

Cathay Pacific codeshare on Qantas domestic routes:

  • Adelaide-Melbourne
  • Adelaide-Sydney
  • Alice Springs-Sydney
  • Brisbane-Cairns
  • Brisbane-Melbourne
  • Brisbane-Sydney
  • Brisbane – Townsville
  • Canberra-Melbourne
  • Cairns-Melbourne
  • Cairns-Sydney
  • Darwin-Perth
  • Hobart-Melbourne
  • Melbourne-Sydney