EU rules that TAAG Angola and Heli Malongo can now fly without restrictions

No post image

The European Commission has updated the EU Air Safety List – the list of airlines that do not meet international safety standards – and it sees TAAG Angola Airlines and Heli Malongo released from the list.

Both had been operating under restrictions within the European Union since November 2008 and unable to operate full services.

On the other hand, all the air carriers from Moldova, with the exception of Air Moldova, Fly One and Aerotranscargo, have been included in the list due to a lack of safety oversight by the civilaviation authority of Moldova.

The civil aviation authorities of the Dominican Republic and of Belarus have been put under heightened scrutiny because of signs of a decrease in safety oversight.

EU Transport Commissioner, Violeta Bulc said: “Maintaining the highest level of safety in European skies is our priority. The EU’s Air Safety List remains one of our most effective tools to achieve this.”

The EU Air Safety List not only helps to maintain high levels of safety in the EU, but it also helps affected airlines and countries to improve their levels of safety, in order for them to eventually be taken off the list.

In addition, the EU Air Safety List has become a major preventive tool, as it motivates countries with safety problems to act upon them before a ban under the EU Air Safety List would become necessary.

Following yesterday’s update, a total of 120 airlines are banned from EU skies. 114 airlines certified in 16 states, due to a lack of safety oversight by the aviation authorities from these states.

Six individual airlines, based on safety concerns with regard to these airlines themselves: Avior Airlines (Venezuela), Iran Aseman Airlines (Iran), Iraqi Airways (Iraq), Blue Wing Airlines (Suriname), Med-View Airlines (Nigeria) and Air Zimbabwe (Zimbabwe).

An additional four airlines are subject to operational restrictions and can only fly to the EU with specific aircraft types: Afrijet (Gabon), Air Koryo (Democratic People’s Republic of Korea), Air Service Comores (the Comoros) and Iran Air (Iran).