Four US airlines finally cave in to China’s demands over Taiwan

posted on 25th July 2018 by Justin Burns
Four US airlines finally cave in to China's demands over Taiwan

American Airlines, Delta Air Lines, Hawaiian Airlines and United Airlines have reportedly finally decided to change the way they refer to Taiwan on their websites.

The four US international carriers made the move after the Chinese government demanded airlines that fly to China remove references to Taiwan as an independent country on their websites and instead describe it as a province in China.

They follow similar moves already made by the likes of Air Canada, Qantas and Air India and other international carriers and came just before the deadline today (25 July) Beijing time – set by China on 25 April.

American describes all destinations in its booking form in the format of ‘Airport Name, City, Country’ but in Beijing the carrier had deleted any city or country name from airports in Taiwan. Delta made a similar change just after, listing all destinations in Taiwan as ‘City’ without any country reference.

After China made the demands, the White House released a statement saying it was “Orwellian nonsense” Earlier this year, Delta was slammed by China’s Civil Aviation Administration for listing both Taiwan and Tibet on their website which it ended up apologising for.