Javier Marín elected to lead European airport association

posted on 27th October 2021 by Eddie Saunders
Javier Marín elected to lead European airport association

European airports’ trade association Airports Council International Europe (ACI EUROPE) yesterday held its General Assembly as part of its 31st Annual Congress and General Assembly, hosted by Geneva Airport.

During the General Assembly, Javier Marín, Managing Director, Airports and Executive Member of the Board of Directors for Aena, was elected to lead the organisation as President.

He succeeds Jost Lammers, CEO of Munich Airport.

Upon his appointment, Mr Marín said: “It is an honour and a pleasure to accept this position as President of ACI EUROPE.

“This comes, of course, at a challenging time for our industry. We are poised on the brink of an extraordinary step-change, readying ourselves for the post-pandemic reality.

“The role of our Association has never been more central – giving us voice on the international stage, defending and promoting our license to operate, and making us even greater than the sum of our parts as we digitalise and decarbonise our industry.

“I thank ACI EUROPE’s members for their trust in me at this critical time”.

Mr Marín, whose career with Aena spans twenty years, is responsible for both the Spanish airports network and those airports which Aena manages abroad though its subsidiary, Aena International.

Prior to joining Aena, he held positions within the Universidada Politécnica of Madrid, the Spanish Civil Aviation Authority, the Paris-based Eurocontrol Experimental Centra and Indra.

During this year’s General Assembly, the following were also appointed to the Board of ACI EUROPE for a first term: Mr André Schneider, CEO, Aéroport International de Genève (SWITZERLAND), Mr Giovanni Battista Scalia, CEO, GESAP – Palermo (ITALY), Mr. Daniel Burkard, Deputy Airport Director, Moscow Domodedovo Airport (RUSSIA), Mr Kimmo Mäki, CEO, FINAVIA (FINLAND), Mr Franck Goldnadel, President du Directoire, Société Aéroports de la Côte d’Azur (FRANCE), Mr Gilles Tellier, Directeur des Concessions Aéroportuaires, CCIMBO (FRANCE), Mr Serkan Kaptan, Deputy CEO, TAV (TURKEY), Mr Goran Jandreoski, Executive Director, Airports of Montenegro (MONTENEGRO), Mr. John Holland-Kaye,  CEO, Heathrow Airport (UNITED KINGDOM), Dr Stefan Schulte, Chairman of the Executive Board, Fraport (GERMANY), Mr Edward Arkwright, Deputy CEO, Group ADP (FRANCE), Mr Huseyin Kadri Samsunlu, CEO, IGA (TURKEY).