Schiphol sets up Sustainability Advisory Board

posted on 30th March 2023 by Eddie Saunders
Schiphol sets up Sustainability Advisory Board

Schiphol has set up a Sustainability Advisory Board. The initiative stems from the desire to gather independent thinkers to reflect on Schiphol’s ambitions when it comes to making aviation more sustainable.

Sustainability is of the utmost urgency to Schiphol and the aviation sector, and the next few years will be crucial in realising those ambitions.

Ideas and advice on sustainability

The independent Sustainability Advisory Board’s role is to provide ideas and advice, both requested and at its own initiative.

It also gives Schiphol the opportunity to present plans and initiatives and ask for feedback.

The members of the Board are participating in a personal capacity. Schiphol has vowed to provide feedback to the Board about what it does with their ideas, remarks and suggestions. The group will meet 3-4 times per year.

Board members

The Sustainability Advisory Board is made up of the following members:

  • Jos Cozijnsen – Climate Neutral Group
  • Elske Doets – Owner & President Doets Reizen
  • Li An Phoa – Drinkable Rivers – Spring College – Teacher Nyenrode Business University
  • Zita Schellekens – Sustainability Director DSM & Special Advisor to Feike Sijbesma, Founder Good Growth
  • Elisabeth van der Sman – Sustainable Aviation NLR – Destination 2050
  • Jan Paul van Soest – De Gemeynt
  • Hajar Yagkoubi – Commission 2100 – Public Speaking and Youth Inclusion Consultancy

Members from Royal Schiphol Group are: Dick Benschop (CEO Royal Schiphol Group), Kees Boef (Director Corporate Affairs), Richard Emmerink (Director Strategy and Airport Planning) and Denise Pronk (Manager Sustainability).

KLM’s Karel Bockstael (VP Sustainability KLM) has also been invited to participate in the meetings.